Just for the Health of It

All About Australia Visa Requirements

Australia visa requirements will vary depending on what category you fall in and hence what kind of visa you want to apply for. In Australia, or any country for that matter, there is no one-size-fits-all approach when it comes to visas. There are different visas for different categories of people and they all have their own unique eligibility requirements and terms and conditions. If you want to know more about Australia visa requirements, you might fall into any of the six categories of visas for Australia.

Schengen Visa Travel Insurance

1. Skilled Regional Sponsored (Provisional) Australia Visas

This category of visa is for skilled persons, the term ‘skilled person’ referring to the categories of skilled labor mentioned in the Skilled Occupation List. This allows you to stay and work in a specified area in Australia for up to three years. The Australia visa requirements for this category entail that you should know English, be under 45 years of age and you should be nominated by a relevant body or sponsored by a relative.

2. Skilled Immigration

This visa category was introduced to allow immigrants of certain professions who can enrich the economy by offering their services in certain fields. The Australia visa requirements for this category require that the person be skilled in certain areas and there is a point system here wherein points are awarded based on skill, age, language, specific work experience, Australian work experience, Australian qualifications, regional study, partner skills, nomination, designated area sponsorship, and designated language.

3. Family Immigration

This visa will allow a person, upon passing certain eligibility criteria to join family already living in Australia – may be as permanent legal residents. Australia visa requirements for this category entail that the Australian resident, known as sponsor, should submit proper sponsorship papers with the government.

4. Business Immigration

This was a new visa category introduced in March 2003 to replace all existing business visa categories up till then. It is a two-step approval process wherein a provisional visa is granted first.

5. Retirement Visa

The requirements for a retirement visa entail that the person should be above 55 years of age. A spouse is also covered under this visa plan regardless of age. It is valid for four years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *